Follow

Analytics FAQ

Before you begin

Plans: Professional and Enterprise

This article contains answers to common questions about our analytics feature:

What do the access levels for analytics mean?

There are 2 access levels for analytics:

  • User, which allows you to view, filter, download, and share looks and dashboards, but doesn't allow you to edit them or create new ones.

  • Creator, which allows you to do all the things Users can do, plus the ability to create and edit new looks and dashboards.

To learn more about managing access to analytics, see Enable analytics.

 

Which sites can I see analytics for?

You can view data for any of the sites you've been assigned access to through your user account.

 

What are the different folders used for?

  • My Folder: If you are a creator, this is where you can store any looks and dashboards you create for your own use. Only you can access the content in this folder.

  • Group: This is where the looks and dashboards created by your organization are stored. Anyone at your organization with access to analytics can access the content in this folder.

  • Shared: This is where our ready-made looks and dashboards are stored. You can't edit the content in this folder, even if you have creator permissions. However, creators can use them as a base for creating new looks and dashboards. To learn how, see Create a new look or Create a new dashboard.

 

How often do dashboards refresh?

Our ready-made dashboards do not refresh automatically. You can refresh the dashboard layout by clicking the reload button, or refresh the queried data by clicking Clear cache and refresh in the menu.

Refresh frequency can be configured per dashboard, as well as for individual tiles on a dashboard. For example, you could configure a dashboard so that most of its tiles only refresh once an hour, but one specific tile refreshes every 15 minutes. To learn more, see Change dashboard settings.

 

How do I refresh my dashboard?

The reload (or refresh) button refreshes the dashboard display, but doesn't refresh the queried data. For example, after you select filters, you need to click the reload button to apply them:

reload_btn.png

Unlike the reload button, clicking Clear cache and refresh refreshes the queried data. For example, if you've just closed a work order, you might need to clear the cache before your look or dashboard reflects the change.

To clear the cache, open the menu and select Clear cache and refresh:

clear_cache_refresh.png

Tip: For looks, this item is in the gear menu instead.

 

What is the session timeout for analytics?

The session timeout for analytics depends on the timeout configured in your user account:

  • If there isn't a session timeout configured in your user account, your analytics session times out after 1 hour.

  • If the session timeout in your user account is 4 hours or less, analytics uses the same session timeout. For example, if the session timeout in your user account is 2 hours, your analytics session also times out after 2 hours.

  • If the session timeout in your user account is longer than 4 hours, your analytics session times out after 4 hours. For example, if the session timeout in your user account is 5 hours, your analytics session still times out after 4.

To learn more about configuring session timeouts for users, see Change the session timeout for a user account.

 

Which looks and dashboards can I edit?

If you are a creator, you can edit any looks and dashboards that you created.

Although you can't edit the ready-made looks and dashboards we provide (located in the Shared folder), you can use existing looks to create new ones. To learn how, see Create a new look or Create a new dashboard.

 

How many seats do I have left for analytics?

The number of seats your organization is granted depends on the plan you're subscribed to:

Plan

Creator seats

User seats

Professional

1

5

Enterprise

3

20

For your convenience, the CMMS displays the number of seats you have left for each access level directly where you assign access on the Analytics tab in Settings > Users:

The Analytics tab in a user record with the remaining seats highlighted
 

How can I find out who our seats have been assigned to?

If you need to find out which users your analytics seats are assigned to, please contact your Fiix representative or our support team.

 
 
Was this article helpful?

Comments