We're working on some improvements to the Help Center. As a result, you might notice some changes to content, organization, and layout over the next few weeks.

Follow

About permissions

Permissions determine which features users can access in Fiix and how they can interact with them. Users are assigned these permissions via their user group, meaning that to change what a specific user has access to, you would either assign them to a different user group or change the permissions for the group they're already assigned.

There are five types of permissions you can configure:

Use the links above to jump to the corresponding sections in this article.

Looking for information about how to configure permissions for the mobile app? See About mobile app settings to learn more.

Menu permissions

Menu permissions control which features are displayed in the feature menu:

The web app with the feature menu highlighted.

Note

To actually use these features, users must also be assigned the corresponding page permissions.

All of our default user groups have a standard set of menu permissions assigned. To learn about which menu permissions are assigned to which groups by default, see Default menu permissions. If necessary, you can change these permissions to fit your organization's needs, or create new user groups with a different configuration.

To configure menu permissions:

  1. Navigate to Settings > User Groups.

  2. Click the user group you want to configure permissions for.

  3. Click the Menu Permissions tab.

  4. Do one of the following:

    • To assign a permission to a user group, select its checkbox.

    • To remove a permission from that user group, clear its checkbox.

  5. Click Save.

 

Page permissions

Page permissions determine what users can see and do in the CMMS, beyond just which features are enabled in the menu. For example, you could use page permissions to specify which users can edit asset details.

Note

To actually access these features, users must also be assigned the corresponding menu permission.

All of our default user groups have a standard set of page permissions assigned. To learn about which page permissions are assigned to which groups by default, see Default page permissions. If necessary, you can change these permissions to fit your organization's needs, or create new user groups with a different configuration.

To configure page permissions:

  1. Navigate to Settings > User Groups.

  2. Click the user group you want to configure permissions for.

  3. Click the Page Permissions tab.

  4. In the Page drop-down list, select the page you want to configure permissions for. For example, to configure permissions for the Asset page, select Asset:

    The Page Permissions tab, with Asset selected in the Page drop-down list. The list is highlighted.
  5. Do any of the following:

    • To enable a permission to that user group, select its checkbox.

    • To disable a permission for that user group, clear its checkbox.

  6. Click Save.

 

Purchasing permissions

Purchasing permissions determine a user's role in the purchasing workflow. For example, you could use them to specify which users can submit purchase orders and which users can approve or reject them.

Note

To actually use the Purchasing feature, users must also be assigned the corresponding menu and page permissions.

Some of our default user groups have a standard set of purchasing permissions assigned. To learn about which purchasing permissions are assigned to which groups by default, see Default purchasing permissions. If necessary, you can change these permissions to fit your organization's needs, or create new user groups with a different configuration.

To configure purchasing permissions:

  1. Navigate to Settings > User Groups.

  2. Click the user group you want to configure permissions for.

  3. Click the Purchasing Permissions tab.

  4. Do any of the following:

    • To enable a permission to that user group, select its checkbox.

    • To disable a permission for that user group, clear its checkbox.

  5. Click Save.

 

API permissions

API permissions determine what actions a user can take in related applications, such as our mobile app or third-party apps connected to Fiix via API. For example, you could use API permissions to specify which users can edit asset information using the mobile app.

Note

Some of the features in the mobile app require additional configuration before users can access them. To learn more about setting up the mobile app (including which API permissions to enable so that users can access specific features), see the Mobile App Settings section.

When you configure API permissions, the checkboxes for each row are divided into separate columns for Add, Find, Change, and Remove:

API_permissions.png

These checkboxes correspond to the main actions you can perform:

  • The Add checkbox corresponds to being able to create new items.

  • The Find checkbox corresponds to being able to view information.

  • The Change checkbox corresponds to being able to edit information.

  • The Remove checkbox corresponds to being able to delete information.

Our default user groups (other than Guests) have a standard set of API permissions assigned. To learn about which API permissions are assigned to which groups by default, see Default API permissions. If necessary, you can change these permissions to fit your organization's needs, or create new user groups with a different configuration.

To configure API permissions:

  1. Navigate to Settings > User Groups.

  2. Click the user group you want to configure permissions for.

  3. Click the API Permissions tab.

  4. Do any of the following:

    • To enable a permission to that user group, select its checkbox.

    • To disable a permission for that user group, clear its checkbox.

  5. Click Save.

 
 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments